RECORD OF THE PROCEEDINGS SKAGIT TRANSIT BOARD OF DIRECTORS COMPOSITION REVIEW

Wednesday October 21, 2020

The Skagit Transit Board of Directors met for a special Composition Review Meeting via teleconference. Mayor Boudreau called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m. followed by roll call.

Members Present via Teleconference

Ron Wesen, Skagit County Commissioner
Lisa Janicki, Skagit County Commissioner
Jill Boudreau, City of Mount Vernon, Mayor (Vice Chair)
Julia Johnson, City of Sedro Woolley, Mayor
Steve Sexton, City of Burlington, Mayor
Laurie Gere, City of Anacortes, Mayor
Rick DeGloria, City of Burlington, Councilmember
Sandy Perkins, Skagit County Auditor
Soren Jensen, Labor Representative (non-voting member)

Staff Present

Dale O'Brien, Executive Director Whitney Davis, Clerk to the Board

Staff Present via Teleconference:

Nicolas Bergman, IT Technician

Members of Public via Teleconference:

Members Absent:

Kenneth Dahlstedt, Skagit County Commissioner (Chair) Mark Hulst, City of Mount Vernon, Councilmember

Providing Legal Counsel:

None

I Selection of Chair to Facilitate Meeting

Ms. Boudreau asked if anyone present would like to facilitate the meeting. With no offers, Mayor Boudreau stated she would Chair the meeting.

II Overview of RCW 36.57A.050

Ms. Davis gave a brief overview of the RCW that was included in the packet.

III Discussion of Any Changes to Board Composition

Mr. Wesen stated Mayor Hayes has mentioned a desire to have a representative from La Conner serve on the Board. Mr. O'Brien stated Ms. Davis sent letters to every elected official in the PTBA inviting them to this meeting. Ms. Davis stated she did not get any responses outside the current Board of Directors.

Ms. Janicki stated she would like to add the Community Advisory Committee (CAC) Chair to the Board of Directors as an Ad Hoc position in order to create a better connection to the CAC. Ms. Boudreau requested clarification that the position would be a non-voting member. Mr. O'Brien stated the RCW states that Board members must be elected officials, however if it were a non-voting position with the ability to interject comments during the meeting, that would be fine.

Mr. Sexton confirmed that the union representative is already a non-voting member of the Board. Ms. Boudreau asked how that position was defined. Mr. O'Brien stated the RCW states that a union representative is able to attend the meetings in a non-voting position, and the union elects their representative.

Ms. Janicki recalled in the past that the union representative position was taking leave time to be able to attend the meetings and requested information on the financial impact of the union representative attending Board meetings. Mr. O'Brien explained the Board voted to pay the union representative during the meeting.

Ms. Boudreau clarified this ad hoc position would be a non-voting and un-paid position, but is invited to participate in Board meetings.

IV	Election of Vice Chair for 2021	
	Ms. Janicki volunteered to serve as the Vice Chair for 2021.	
Ms. Gere nominated Commissioner Janicki to be the Vice Chair for 2021. Mr. Sexton seconded the nomination. The motion passed unanimously.		
Mayor Boudreau adjourned the meeting at 1:39 p.m.		
		Mayor, Jill Boudreau, Chairperson
	Attest:	
	Whitney Davis, Clerk of Skagit Transit Board	

Ms. Janicki made a motion to add the Community Advisory Committee Chair as an ad hoc position to the Board of

Directors. Ms. Gere seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.