Board of Directors

The Board of Directors, as the governing body of the agency, establishes policy and legislative direction for the agency. The Board defines the organization’s mission, establishes goals, and approves the budget to accomplish the goals. Board members represent the agency’s position to the public, in the Legislature, and in the community, working closely with the Executive Director. They are responsible for hiring, supervising and evaluating the Executive Director.  Board members establish their performance standards and are expected to abide by all state and local laws with regard to Board member conduct and protocol, as well as the Agency’s by-laws, resolutions, and procedures. The Executive Director and the agency’s legal counsel report to the Board of Directors.

The Board is composed of nine elected officials selected by and serving at the pleasure of the respective governing bodies of the component cities and county within the service area. A state law adopted in 2010 also requires public transportation benefit area corporations to have a non-voting union representative on the board of directors.

Representation is apportioned as follows:

  • Mayor Matt Miller, Anacortes (Vice Chair)
  • Mayor Steve Sexton, Burlington 
  • Mayor Jill Boudreau, Mount Vernon (Chair)
  • Mayor Julia Johnson, Sedro-Woolley 
  • Councilperson Bill Aslett, Burlington
  • Councilperson Mark Hulst, Mount Vernon
  • County Commissioner Ron Wesen, District 1
  • County Commissioner Peter Browning, District 2 
  • County Commissioner Lisa Janicki, District 3
  • Labor Representative (non-voting member selected by Skagit Transit’s labor union)
  • Community Advisory Committee Chair (non-voting member)

The Board of Directors regular meeting is held on the third Wednesday of each month at 11:00 a.m.

close (X)