How Do I Get Started?
To start a rideshare, you need at least three adults - the more riders, the lower your fare.
Decide on one or two pickup and drop-off points and times.
Choose a group manager, bookkeeper and set of primary drivers. There must also be at least one backup driver. The bookkeeper will need to meet with Skagit Transit for a brief bookkeeping instruction.
Rideshare drivers must be able to comply with the Driver Function List and the Driver Eligibility Criteria. Please review these carefully before attending the driving class.
Drivers must also complete a Driver Application, Driver Abstract, and Rideshare Agreement and provide a copy of their Driver's License. Upon receipt of an acceptable response from Motor Vehicle Records, each Driver will then be scheduled for an online Driver Orientation. This consists of a defensive driving course and may include an on-road evaluation. Driver's must also read and sign the Fuel Card Usage form.
**All drivers must obtain a copy of their driver's abstract. Purchase Your Complete Driving Record Online**
All riders and drivers must complete a Rideshare Agreement.
Make enough copies of the Rideshare Rules and Responsibilities to ensure that each member receives a copy.
A vehicle may be issued to the group soon after completing these steps.
If you have any questions, call 360-757-9153 or 360-708-4299 to reach the Rideshare Administrator, or e-mail the Rideshare Administrator at firstname.lastname@example.org
In the event of an accident:
1. Secure the vehicle and passengers in a safe manner.
Setup emergency triangles:
100' in front of the vehicle, 10' behind vehicle, 100' behind vehicle.
2. Check for injuries and reassure passengers.
3. Call 9-1-1, if necessary, to report accident and injuries.
4. Hand out information exchange card (found in accident packet in van) to driver of other vehicle(s).
5. While driver of other vehicle(s) is/are completing exchange card, pass out courtesy cards (in accident packet) to your passengers and witnesses. *Ensure witnesses with the best view are the first witnesses to receive courtesy cards.
6. Trade exchange cards with driver of other vehicle(s).
7. Cooperate fully with law enforcement officials. DO NOT ADMIT BLAME. Give information concisely and accurately.
8. Complete the Washington State Transit Insurance Pool (WSTIP) Rideshare Event Report and the State of Washington Vehicle Collision Report at the scene and make notes for later.
9. Collect completed courtesy card(s) from witnesses and passengers of the vehicle.
*Note: Passengers may also email or mail courtesy cards to Skagit Transit directly at:
ATTN: RIDESHARE ADMINISTRATOR OR email@example.com
600 COUNTY SHOP LANE
BURLINGTON WA 98233
10. Notify Skagit Transit to arrange for a replacement vehicle.
11. Call the Skagit Transit Rideshare Administrator at 360.757.9153 or 360.708.4299 as soon as possible, but no later than 24 hours after the accident.
*IF THE ACCIDENT INVOLVES INJURY OR DEATH THE DRIVER IS REQUIRED TO REPORT THIS TO SKAGIT TRANSIT IMMEDIATELY.
12. If the apparent property damage is $700 or more to any vehicle, notification must be made within 24-hours to:
A. Local Police, if accident occurred within a city or town; or
B. Washington State Patrol, if accident occurred on state highways or outside any city's limits.
13. Pending an investigation, drivers should refrain from discussion of the accident, either at the scene of at a later time.
Event Report (Required): Event Report
Event Map (Required): Event Report Map