Fact Sheet

Skagit Transit History and Demographics

Skagit Transit System was established under RCW 36.57A. The authority was established in 1993 by voter approval of 2/10 of 1% local sales tax to support transit service in the Mount Vernon/Burlington area. Since initial voter approval in 1993, expansion of the Public Transit Benefit Area (PTBA) or service area occurred through public vote in Anacortes, La Conner, Sedro-Woolley, Lyman, Hamilton, and Concrete.

Voters in unincorporated South Fidalgo Island, Burlington Country Club, North and Northwest Skagit County approved transit expansion into their areas also. At present time the PTBA covers approximately 750 square miles of Skagit County. In November 2008, voters approved an additional 2/10 of 1% to support transit service in the Skagit PTBA. Skagit Transit currently receives a total of 4/10 of 1% local sales tax, operates 16 fixed routes (includes 2 commuter routes), complimentary paratransit services, 2 demand response routes and has over 40 vanpool groups in operation.

2011 Service Statistics

Fixed Route ridership increased 11.8% in 2011 to 624,704 passengers. Commuter and local routes improved to give Skagit Transit its best year since funding cutbacks in 2000.

Dial-a-Ride services increased over the previous year by 1% to 58,344 trips in 2011. At the end of 2011 there were 40 Skagit Transit vanpools in operation, carrying an average of 300 daily riders to their jobs as far away as Renton and Joint Base Lewis & McChord.

Skagit Transit



Skagit Transit’s Operations HQ 1993


Safeway Transfer Station 1995-1998


Riverside Transfer Station 1998-2003


Vanpool Program Begins 2004



Skagit Transit’s Maintenance – Operations and Administration Building 1999 to present


Chuckanut Park and Ride - Transfer Station 2011


Skagit Station – Multi Modal Transfer Center


Commuter Bus Service to Bellingham Begins 2005 Commuter Service to Everett 2006

close (X)